JOURNAL OF FORENSIC SCIENCES 229

Announcements

The Toxicology Section of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences announces the appointment of Dr. Naresh C. Jain as the director of the Toxicology Placement Service. This is a voluntary service providing employee-employer contact in the field of toxicology. Dr. Jain has replaced Dr. James Garriott as director of the service. The service will provide, on a confidential basis, the curriculum vitae of prospective applicants to employers registered with the office and will (1) maintain a list of applicants who are seeking employment in toxicology, (2) maintain a list of employment opportunities, (3) provide regular contact for potential employees and employers, and (4) provide counsel and personal interviews to both the prospective applicants and employers at the Academy meeting.

Both employees and employers are encouraged to register their names and, for employers, their vacancies, with Dr. Jain. This service is entirely free to both applicants and employers. Address all inquires to:

Naresh C. Jain, D.Crim. Director, Toxicology Placement Service Rancho Los Amigos Hospital 7601 E. Imperial Highway Downey, CA 90242 Phone: (213) 922-7973

Widmark Award

Dr. Kurt M. Dubowski, a professor of medicine and director of the toxicology laboratories at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City, Okla., has received the Widmark Award, the highest honor bestowed by the International Committee on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety. Dr. Dubowski, the third U.S. scientist to become a Widmark Laureate, received the award in Stockholm last June during the Eighth International Conference on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety.

The award citation recognizes Dr. Dubowski's research contributions to breath- and blood-alcohol analyses, human alcohol pharmacokinetics, and studies of the effects of alcohol, bårbiturates, carbon monoxide, and marihuana as well as his extensive teaching activities in this field, his work in traffic law enforcement, and his frequent participation in major trials as an expert witness.

The Widmark Award, established in 1965, is conferred during the international conferences on alcohol, drugs, and traffic safety, which take place every three to five years. It is named for Swedish physiologist and physician Eric M. P. Widmark, a pioneer in the study of alcohol and its effects. In 1914, he was the first scientist to address the practical problems of alcohol and traffic.